Student of the Year Award


Each year, Lavit Gallery awards a student or students of MTU Crawford College of Art & Design the Student of the Year Award. This award consists of an exhibition at Lavit Gallery and a cash prize kindly provided by our sponsor Roberts Nathan Accountants. This award was established in 1967 and we are delighted to continue to offer these emerging artists this prize and are so proud to see many go on to have very established careers as artists.


Year Sponsor Winner
2022 Roberts Nathan Business Advisors, Audit & Tax Helen Cantwell
Bernie Hennessy
2021 Roberts Nathan Business Advisors, Audit & Tax Lorraine Parker
Lorraine Poulter
Luna Torresel Rave
Fionn van der Noll
2020 Roberts Nathan Business Advisors, Audit & Tax Deirdre Frost
2019 Roberts Nathan Business Advisors, Audit & Tax Padraic Barrett
Orla O’Byrne
2018 Roberts Nathan Business Advisors, Audit & Tax Sue Dolan
2017 Parfrey Murphy Stephen Doyle
2016 Parfrey Murphy Holly Walsh
2015 Parfrey Murphy Dearbhla Coffey
Pauline Gibbons
Angela Gilmour
2014 Parfrey Murphy & CO Joseph Keating
Yestin Reboul
2011 Parfrey Murphy & CO Sinéad Fagan
Raphael Llewellyn
2010 Parfrey Murphy & CO Pam Carroll
Aine Maher
2009 Parfrey Murphy & CO Susan O’Regan
2008 Parfrey Murphy & CO Elayne O’Connor
2007 Parfrey Murphy & CO Roisín Kinsella
2006 Parfrey Murphy & CO Elizabeth Charleson
2005 Parfrey Murphy & CO Sam Curtin
2004 Parfrey Murphy & CO Tonia Kehoe
2003 Parfrey Murphy & CO Sheenagh Geoghegan
Frances Kelly
2002 Parfrey Murphy & CO Sinéad Rice
Kathleen Kelly
2001 Parfrey Murphy & CO Suzanne O’Sullivan
2000 Parfrey Murphy & CO Paul White
1999 Parfrey Murphy & CO Lorraine Mullins
1998 Parfrey Murphy & CO Mary Gregarly
1997 Descon Ltd Karin Smyth
Katie Sweeny
1996 Cork Art Supplies Sinéad De hÓra
1995 Imperial Hotel Alex Pentek
1994 Cork Arts Society Brian Smyth
Claire Dunne
1993 Cork Arts Supplies Margaret Barron
1992 NE Murphy Mark Ewart
1991 Joseph Woodward & Sons Ann Whitty
1990 Cork Arts Society Catherine Kenny
AIB Bank Paul Larocque
1989 CMP Dairy Carin MacCana
1988 Michael White/Salon 33 Eileen Healy
1987 Dyno-rod Padraigh O’Flaherty
1986 Murphy Brewing Irl Ltd. Assumpta Harnett
1985 Cork Arts Society Antjopia Gottschalk
Dave McCormick
1984 Guinness Group Sales Ire. Eileen McCarthy
1983 Suttons Ltd. Micheal Kelly
Ann McCormick
1982 Pfizer Chemical Corporation Donal O’Carroll
1981 Yoghal Carpets Bernice Corcoran
Bridget Flannery
1980 Irish Dunlop CO. Pat Looby
Bridget O’Connell
1979 Algemene Bank Nederland Terry Sheehy
Áine Walsh
1977 Kelly & Barry (Architects) Eilis O’Connell
Eadaoín Harding
1976 Bank of Ireland James Scanlon
Eilis O’Connell
Theresa McCarthy
Siobhán Piercy
1975 Allied Irish Bank Maud Cotter
Jennifer O’Sullivan
1974 Douglas Shopping Centre Maud Cotter
Pfizer Chemical Corporation Jennifer O’Sullivan
1973 John A. Wood Ltd. Rachel Stretton
Vivienne Roche
Eilis O’Connell
1972 Youghal Carpets Dierdre O’Donovan
Patricia Foley
Gerard Casey
Marie Magee
Ann Lodge
1971 Roofchrome Gerard Casey
1970 St. Patrick’s Woollen Mills Frank Clayton
1969 St. Patrick’s Woollen Mills Anne Scally
1968 St. Patrick’s Woollen Mills Len de la Cour
Pam O’Sullivan
1967 St. Patrick’s Woollen Mills John Burke